Annual Cookie Exchange & Maple Pecan Cookies

Last weekend my girlfriends and I had our annual cookie exchange. I always get really excited for it, and love pouring over holiday recipes, but even more than the swap, I look forward to the dozens and dozens of sugar cookies freshly baked just begging to be decorated. From snowmen to Christmas trees and mittens to gingerbread men.. we frost, slather and sprinkle to our little heart’s content… but then the question is, who is going to eat all these??? So I’ve decided cookies are perfect for re-gifting. A cute little box, a personal note, and bam, thoughtfulness on a dime.

As for my maple pecan cookies, deeeelicious! When I moved last month, I discovered a stack of photocopied recipes that seem to have been forgotten (too many recipes, too little time). Among the pile was a recipe in Relish Magazine for Vermont Maple Pecan Cookies. Don’t mind if I do. And then I did. And they were amazing!

Vermont Maple Pecan Cookies
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 cup shredded coconut
2 2/3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
2 cups packed dark brown sugar
1 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup maple syrup
2 T light corn syrup
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup boiling water
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups toasted pecans

1. Preheat oven to 300F. Combine oats, coconut, flour, salt, cinnamon and brown sugar in a large bowl, whisk to blend. In a saucepan, combine butter, maple syrup and corn syrup. Heat until butter melts. Separately, combine baking soda and boiling hot water. Once baking soda is dissolved add to maple syrup mixture. Add in vanilla extract. Stir into dry ingredients. Add pecans and mix thoroughly. Place small spoonfuls of dough balls onto cookie sheet about 3″ apart and flatten slightly. Bake for about 18 minutes.

Now before you go substituting butter with yogurt spread and whole wheat flour for all-purpose, keep in mind that the best treats are the indulgent ones. Enjoy. Rather than cutting flavor, compromise by enjoying bite size sweetness. And then remind yourself that you’re getting a little whole grain with that old-fashioned oat. 🙂

Merry Christmas. What did you bake for this year’s cookie exchange? And what do you do with all those cookies??

2 Comments

Filed under Indulgences, Recipes

2 responses to “Annual Cookie Exchange & Maple Pecan Cookies

  1. The cookies look delcious! I made peanut butter cookies in my last cookie swap.

  2. Maple Pecan cookies sound so good! I always try to give away cookies, and then keep a little stash in the freezer for me! 🙂

Leave a comment